The Anti-Defamation League (ADL) is one of the nation’s leading civil rights and human relations organizations. No Place for Hate® is one of ADL’s signature education initiatives.

What is No Place for Hate®?

No Place for Hate is an organizing framework for K-12 schools committed to creating sustainable change that leads to improved school climate. Participating schools are able to incorporate ADL’s anti-bias and anti-bullying resources with their existing programming to form one powerful message that all students have a place to belong.  Over 1,700 schools across the country were designated No Place for Hate in the 2015-2016 school year.

What is the Goal of No Place for Hate?

The goal of No Place for Hate is to inspire a national movement led by students and educators who are committed to using the power of positive peer influence to build inclusive and safe schools in which all students can thrive.

How Do I Sign Up?

If you are new to No Place for Hate and would like to register your school, please fill out this Readiness Questionnaire and someone from the ADL team will be in contact with you shortly.

How do Schools Become No Place for Hate?

There are four steps to becoming a No Place for Hate school:

  1. Register

This year’s registration deadline is October 14, 2016.

  1. Create a No Place for Hate Coalition

This student-led coalition is responsible for identifying bias and bullying issues in the school, developing measurable goals to address these issues, and coordinating and overseeing the implementation of anti-bias and diversity activities throughout the year designed to achieve those goals. This coalition should include students, staff, administrators, and family members that reflect the diversity of the school community.

  1. Sign the No Place for Hate Resolution of Respect

All members of the school community must commit to the goal of No Place for Hate by signing the Resolution of Respect.

  1. Complete at least 3 Activities

Each student must have an opportunity to participate in three ADL approved activities that address bias and bullying through discussion, active learning, and a follow-up action plan.

banner-npfhSchools that complete these four steps receive a customized banner designating their school No Place for Hate!

Is Your School Already No Place for Hate?

If your school was designated a No Place for Hate school within the last two years, please contact Jacqueline Regev at for information on how to register for the 2016-2017 school year.

Listing of Regional 2015-2016 No Place for Hate Schools

Edward M. Downer Elementary School

Fairmont Elementary

Grant Elementary School

Hanna Ranch Elementary School

Harriet Eddy Middle School

Hercules High School

Highland Elementary School

Laguna Creek High School

Lake Elementary School

Lincoln Elementary School

Lovonya DeJean Middle School

Madera Elementary School

Melia Elementary School

Mira Vista K – 8 School

Montalvin Manor Elementary School

Ohlone Elementary School

O’Linda Elementary School

Pinole Valley Middle School

Riverside Elementary School

Shannon Elementary School

Sheldon Elementary School

Stewart K-8 School

Stuart Hall High School

Sylvester Greenwood Academy

Tara Hills Elementary School

Terra Linda High School

Tierra Linda Middle School

Valley View Elementary School

Verde Elementary School

Windsor High School

Woodrow Wilson Elementary School

YMCA of San Francisco Association Office




No Place for Hate is underwritten through generous support from the Graham Family Foundation, in memory of Victor and Olga Graham, Linda and Eric Horodas, Beverly and Jay Ripps and the V.O. Smith Family Foundation.